PDA

View Full Version : Techs, ever seen this(oil leak)?

gtsiawd96
03-04-2009, 10:48 PM
Okay, Some may know, I'm an Audi tech been for almost 3 years now. I'm working on a 2005 A6 3.2l 41,000 miles at work, and have come across a problem I have never seen before. The car came in a couple months ago, leaking oil. Another tech diagnosed the rear timing chain covers where leaking oil. He removed the steel stamped covers, removed the old sealant and applied a new thicker bead of sealant and reinstalled the covers. Car returns 3 weeks later leaking oil again, I wasn't working on the car but I gave a quick look, and this time it didn't look like oil to me much lighter I said transmission fluid, there were drops of fluid coming off the bottom of the transmission bell housing and the oil pan where they met. And also fluid all over one of the transmission cooler lines witch sits directly under the bell housing/oil pan. Well, another tech installed an oil filter housing, thinking it was that, the filter housing sits behind the intake manifold on the top of the bell housing on top of the engine, the housing is made of composite and the oil filter is a cartridge and sometime can leak down the backside of the engine. Okay, well now this week the car returns, service manager gives me the car, wants it fixed right. lol.

Well like I had originally thought I was thinking the Torque converter seal, or the transmission cooler line was leaking since the fluid was very clean, oil is pitch black hasn't been changed in 6,000 miles. I removed the trans inspected the torque convertor seal it was dry alittle dampness but not the source of leak. So I narrowed it down to the transmission cooler line leaking. Reinstalled the 350lb transmission ugh. Replaced the transmission lines. Filled trans fluid, drove vehicle overnight, next morning Fluid Again. WTF!!