TriStateTuners.com :: Home of Tristate Auto Enthusiast

TriStateTuners.com :: Home of Tristate Auto Enthusiast (http://www.tristatetuners.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Car Related Chat (http://www.tristatetuners.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   good idea or not? (http://www.tristatetuners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=50312)

stover 02-26-2008 05:46 PM

good idea or not?

i get my license in less than a month .. and i was hoping that by the summe ri would be able to pick up a car to wrench on this summer.. and it just so happens that im into drifting and wanted to know if anyone had any ideas or tips or advice for me... i dont have a job lined up but i am currently a student at votech for "auto mechanics/technician" , i wont be certifieduntill next year but the school helps kids to get summer jobs to make a little money but i was planing on getting a part time doin oil changes or even detailing cars untill then.. so anyway my question is what would be a good cheap base to start with and where to go from there... is there age limits on drifting at e-town because i will only be turning 17 ... ok please help out if you can

-stover

93EGY8 02-26-2008 05:55 PM

the first thing i would do if i were you..is buy a beater..and then save for a project car

xEJ20x 02-26-2008 06:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 93EGY8 (Post 819130)
the first thing i would do if i were you..is buy a beater..and then save for a project car

+1
Nothin worse then when your project/daily breaks leaving you stranded...

stover 02-26-2008 06:35 PM

already covered i have a 99 plymouth breeze 5spd.... so wats next?

xEJ20x 02-26-2008 06:50 PM

Something FR with a good aftermarket, decent community, and cheap.
I'd say Miata.

stover 02-26-2008 06:55 PM