good deal or craigslist scam? [Archive] - TriStateTuners.com :: Home of Tristate Auto Enthusiast

PDA

View Full Version : good deal or craigslist scam?


skateproperty
08-22-2008, 05:10 PM
I've been looking on Craigslist lately to find a car and I came across this Eclipse the other day (http://philadelphia.craigslist.org/ctd/806860194.html). I showed it to my friend and he said it was probably a scam because all of the text was actually a picture.

So then today, I found an even better deal on an Eclipse (http://philadelphia.craigslist.org/cto/808264838.html). Does anyone here have a lot of experience with Craigslist? Does this seem like a legit deal or just some bull**** scam? I emailed the guy for more info, but I'm still waiting for a response. What do you guys think about it?

twastheglow
08-22-2008, 05:12 PM
Well, the 2nd one was "flagged for removal".

skateproperty
08-22-2008, 05:13 PM
Well, the 2nd one was "flagged for removal".

Ha, well that was fast....

twastheglow
08-22-2008, 05:15 PM
If it's too good to be true, it usually is...not always by any means. But it should raise concern.

The Captain
08-22-2008, 05:18 PM
i think the first is legit, simply because the phone number. That guy always sells on craigslist for dirt cheap, but from what i've seen the cars are usually pretty beat. Call the number and check it out but be very wary.

jdm free
08-22-2008, 05:42 PM
theyr worth more than that? it doesnt seem like a great deal but good one

97TurboDSM
08-22-2008, 06:03 PM
lol a '99 gst with black leather and 5spd is worth way more than 5500.

Sykopathik
08-22-2008, 06:39 PM
blue book on the car in good condition is only $5,650, excellent is $6,215.

The Captain
08-22-2008, 06:45 PM
blue book, shmue book. A car is what people will pay.

Sykopathik
08-22-2008, 07:01 PM
blue book, shmue book. A car is what people will pay.

True, just stating the guys asking price isn't incredibly low according to kbb. I usually price my stuff in the same way, unless its heavily modified or extremely clean/low miles.

97TurboDSM
08-22-2008, 07:34 PM
lol eclipse's have not and prolly never will be worth what that stupid ass book says they're worth

240sxDann
08-22-2008, 07:47 PM
I still dont see what you mean when you say the text is actually a picture???:bigeek:

97TurboDSM
08-22-2008, 07:56 PM
the text is a jpg file instead of a txt file. not sure why but whatever

240sxDann
08-22-2008, 07:57 PM
ohhhhh I see. Weird

CleanNeon98
08-22-2008, 08:19 PM
Id never pay that much for the 99, but I do like the color combo on it though, and the chromies.

97TurboDSM
08-22-2008, 08:29 PM
you'd never pay that much? you're never gonna find one that cheap. i bought my '97 for 8k

skateproperty
08-22-2008, 09:23 PM
Well the guy with the GSX emailed me back and this is what he had to say:

Hello,

Thank you for your interest in my car.This is a 1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse 2dr GSX AWD Hatchback,2.0L L4 FI Turbo 4cyl Gasoline engine,5 speed manual transmission,Kalapana Black with Dark Charcoal Leather interior,Non-Smoker,clean title,only 94,900 miles on it,VIN# : 4A3AL54F0WE121904.

Here you can find more pictures of the car: http://s315.photobucket.com/albums/ll445/1998MitsubishiEclipseGSX/
(if the above link does not work copy and paste it into a new web browser window).

The car has been well taken care of, always kept in the garage.Flawless exterior/interior condition,no scratches and no dents.It has never been involved in an accident.The engine starts and drives like new and the paint looks great.It comes with US clear title which will be signed and notorized in the buyer's name.Have original manuals and all keys.

I'm an US Air Force lieutenant currently stationed in United Kingdom.The car is here with me. It was bought in the US and shipped to Europe, but it was never permanently registered here, the car is still registered in the US.The car is for sale locally as well, but there are slim chances of this to happen. In order to be able to register this car here in UK the buyer would have to pay very high import/custom taxes that will double the price. So I decided to sell the car back in the US.

The price is $3,800.00 including shipping from UK to the US and delivery to your home address.

So if you decide to buy this car or need further information please get back to me as soon as possible.

Thank you
Lt. Noah Harper

It seems well presented, but I still don't trust it at all.

Does the GST seem like a good deal? $5500 is a little more than I was trying to spend, but it's a reallllly nice car so I might look into it.

The Captain
08-22-2008, 09:28 PM
Well the guy with the GSX emailed me back and this is what he had to say:



It seems well presented, but I still don't trust it at all.

Does the GST seem like a good deal? $5500 is a little more than I was trying to spend, but it's a reallllly nice car so I might look into it.


Well that one with the lt. is DEF! a scam. Spend no more time on that one.

TROLL
08-22-2008, 09:49 PM
Craigslist is for local sales. If its not local, its a scam. Any talk of shipping ever, especially from out of the country, is a scam.

The statements above are true 99.9% of the time.

The only purchases you should make on Craigslist are in person, you hand over the cash, you get the product. No exceptions. Stories of 'oh i'm in the army or I had a family emergency or anything else are BULL. In person, in cash, or nothing.

marshallpre1
08-22-2008, 10:06 PM
craigslist is for local sales. If its not local, its a scam. Any talk of shipping ever, especially from out of the country, is a scam.

The statements above are true 99.9% of the time.

The only purchases you should make on craigslist are in person, you hand over the cash, you get the product. No exceptions. Stories of 'oh i'm in the army or i had a family emergency or anything else are bull. In person, in cash, or nothing.

+1000

scutzi128
08-22-2008, 11:09 PM
agreed

Showoff03LS
08-22-2008, 11:41 PM
ive had good dealings with craigslist so far, thats how i got my SRT-4 wheels so cheap. plus most of the people that i e-mail about cars resopnd. just the other day i e-mailed about a 75 Pinto wagon (yeah yeah flame it all u want) and the person replied back the day after. if your selling its when u get all the bullisht e-mails and only like 1 legit one, so now i just put my phone number and no e-mail cuz the scammers wont call ur phone

CleanNeon98
08-23-2008, 01:13 AM
you'd never pay that much? you're never gonna find one that cheap. i bought my '97 for 8k
I just cant justify paying that much for a DSM, for various reasons.

Deal seems legit though, if you like it, go for it.

Sykopathik
08-23-2008, 01:23 AM
That GSX is definitely a scam, though admittedly the scammers english is way better than most. If you're interested in the GST, set up a time to look at it and don't take the cash with you. Make sure the meet is somewhere public, as well. Never hurts to be careful.

97TurboDSM
08-23-2008, 02:03 AM
I just cant justify paying that much for a DSM, for various reasons.

Deal seems legit though, if you like it, go for it.

jesus h christ people are so ****in thickheaded when it comes to dsm's. go ****in read about them before passing judgement and i dont give a **** "what you heard" " from a friend" because that is just stupid. now im all ****in irritated.

djb5118
08-23-2008, 02:07 PM
ok look. the second one is clearly a scam, as has been established. the first guy isnt. I know this because ive contacted him a few times in the past about cars. Pretty sure hes in Linden, NJ (northern NJ). he had an s13 once that i was going to look at, but sold before i got the chance. For most of his vehicles they are as advertised but just pay close attention if you go to look at it. They usually have some minor stuff cosmetically that hes pretty good at diverting your attention from in the photos.

Bottom line, first guy is real, hes been posting cars on CL for long enough that it must not suck too bad to buy from him. give him a call and see whats up

Eclipse GSX 61
08-23-2008, 02:11 PM
Link #1 looks legit to me. $5,500 for an all stock GST is a very reasonable price. Call him and setup an appointment. I bought my GSX off of Craigslist and it was safer than dealing with a delaership trust me. He isn't asking for a wire transfer, and its only a GST so there isn't really anything sketchy there.

omgjacki
08-23-2008, 02:20 PM
When my mom was looking for a car on Craigslist a few e-mails she got back were similar to the one in UK. "I'm in Europe with the car, I can ship it back though" or "I moved, but the car is still in the US, I can sell it from here." It's all bull**** if you ask me, especially since everyone has to be present for a title transfer. I know it sounds nice, a GSX for $3,800, but don't trust it.

BlkWhtTSI
08-23-2008, 02:33 PM
the dude for the 1st one is a dealer plain and simple thats what 90% of the dealer post look like.

Only damage i can see its the passenger foglight cover is gone 1 center cap for the rim is gone, air bag cover on passenger side looks to be coming up a little, decent sized hole in the carpet under the clutch pedal, minor but normal rust on brakes and capilers

skateproperty
08-23-2008, 04:36 PM
I'm going up to look at the GST on Wednesday. What kind of things should I look for? I'm not really familiar with DSM's as I've had my heart set on 240's but they're just too hard to find and I really need to find a car before school starts. I'll be bringing my friend who's a mechanic, so hopefully he'll be able to help.