PDA

View Full Version : MSP opinons

MTuning
06-07-2008, 08:28 PM
Hi, ive been doing the honda thing for the past 5 years so i know the in and outs of them but i'm a novice when it comes to proteges. My dad had a 1995 1.8L and my sister owns a 2003. Driven them but nothing really hands on or hard driving. I'm looking at a 03 MSP, loved them since they came out. I just went on the MSP forum, read their problems/solution thread (http://www.msprotege.com/forum/showthread.php?t=50549) and wow, it makes me a bit nervous especially the factory exhaust breaking off, transmission problems and suspension noise. All that is factory problems? Im done modding for a while after my car sells and putting down the wrench for a bit. I know the bug will bite again so i'm worried. Can i get some personal experiences from owners? thanks in advance.

BradC
06-08-2008, 09:31 AM
They are really fun cars to drive, but I hear you on the problems listed in that thread. I read that entire thread (and the whole damn forum) before I picked mine up new. I was a little put off and worried about these "issues", but to me its been a non-issue.

Here's my car's little history with these, broken down in category like that thread. Anything I skip over, I've never had an issue with...

Hesitation - ****ty Mazda ECU maps. Threw a Unichip on, no more hesitation :) Runs like a champ
Broken IC pipes - never had an issue, but now have hard pipes and an FMIC anyways
Brittle hoses - stock hoses suck balls. I have about 90% of them replaced with silicone, much better. I also rerouted the vac lines so it makes sense.

Tranny issues - never had any. Welded the stock LSD for piece of mind.

"Clunk" - rear sway bar bushings replaced under warr. No more clunk.
Grind - bushings up front replaced under warr, no more squeek.

Radio lockup - never had an issue. I am on my second stock HU though, due to the first one being stolen, at the dealer lot in Young :(