PDA

View Full Version : R/T Tuning Vendor Review

BradC
02-07-2008, 04:32 PM
I recently had some work done at R/T Tuning, and now that I have driven a few hundred miles on their work I thought I would chime in. I have never written a vendor review before, so if I ramble bear with me.

My stock clutch was about at its TQ limit, and slipped while being run on their dyno. I had Vince put together some prices for me, and I was suprised to see his quote.

His quote for my Fidanza flywheel was the same as the lowest price I could find online. His quote for my Spec Stage 3 clutch was lower, yes LOWER, than anywhere online, including MSP-specific websites. Not just lower either, but around $75-$100 lower. How many times have you bought something at a local shop for cheaper than online? I can't say I have ever had that happen before.

I thought their labor prices were very fair as well.

R/T Tuning definately gets an A+ on cost.

As for the work actually performed, I give them an A+ too.

Spec sent the wrong pilot bearing with my clutch kit, they sourced the proper one immediately as to not delay the job.

Also, a plastic "oil passage" as Mazda calls it was damaged when the tranny was apart. I was informed of this, told a new one was on order, and it was replaced at their expense. I was pleased to be informed of this. It isn't a particularly vital piece, and I would never have known had they bolted it back together with it missing. Still, they replaced it because it was the right thing to do. That says a lot to me about a shops level of work and the pride they take in their work to me.

When my clutch was being put in, they also ripped the tranny apart to have their neighbor NDC weld up my LSD (a notorious MSP weak spot).